Happy birthday to us! Frustration and communication.

Today is my 23rd birthday. I started my day as normal with a grumpy moan from my fiancé because our son had woken him, banging on the bed to get up. He took the quilt and cocooned himself in it – without a second thought for me, the birthday girl.
I’m used to it now and appreciate that he works and is not a morning person without tea so I did the “top wifey” thing and let him have a lay in and went down stairs with both children and gave them their breakfast, let the dogs out, collected up last nights wrappers and empty glasses and so on, then sat and waited…

And waited.

My fiancé got up shortly after what felt like an eternity (it wasn’t even 8:30am) so was still early for this household. He came down and followed his rather selfish routine. Come down roll a cigarette, go outside to smoke, come in put the kettle on and then goes to the bathroom. This didn’t seem to take so long today so I wasn’t sure if he had already realised it was my birthday. Then he made me a cup of tea and gave me a bundle of cards and a parcel my dad had sent.

I got a rubber phone case for iPhone 5s, I have a 5c so it’s not quite the right shape/size. Appreciated all the same. It was from my dad. Included a card and some money. A box of Thornton’s winter chocolates and a card from our neighbour and a few other cards.

Got to my mothers for Sunday lunch. Had a pork roast and homemade knickerbocker glory.

As my sister is 13 tomorrow we celebrate both together. I gave her her present from us, a 7″ tablet!

My mum was shocked, my fiancé thought I had gone mad and my stepdad was chuffed to bits!

See my little sister well she isn’t an average 13yr old girl. She has atypical quadriplegia cerebral palsy, microcephaly and global developmental delay (amongst other things such as a cortical visual impairment) Nikita is my little sister I love her dearly but she is, with the greatest respects, a spastic. Her attention span is usually about 7-1 minutes.
When she opened and I handed the tablet she sat for an hour and a half just amazed that she could play with it and not be told no! She was drawn in completely!
We had our lunch and pudding at which she had to put down the tablet and eat.
I’ve not seen her be so well behaved at the dinner table in a long time! She at nicely and didn’t mess about with the food (she feeds like a weening toddler as she has no control over her tongue)
I think that because her brain was engaged in an activity for such a length of time prior to dinner she was able to relax and eat! I am amazed!
Just one hour made a huge difference!

Please watch this video on YouTube, this is why I took it upon myself to buy my completely disabled sister a nice Android tablet!

youtube video about frustration and communication

Leave a Reply

